Scholarships & Awards

Wolfson has a long, proud history of donor-funded scholarships and awards, supporting research students in a broad array of subjects across the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences.

Scholarships can be large or small, from fully funded Doctoral or Master’s studentships to research and travel grants or bursaries to address financial hardship.

Celebrating the generosity of Wolfson alumni & supporters

Each of the scholarships and awards below has been made possible by generous donations from Wolfsonians past and present. Full details for scholarships being offered for the forthcoming academic year can be found by visiting

For more information on how you can establish a scholarship, award, or bursary in your name or the name of a loved one, please get in touch at


Past & Current Scholarships

Wolfson Isaiah Berlin Clarendon Scholarship

Oxford Wolfson Marriott Scholarship

Wolfson Guy Newton Clarendon Scholarship

Oxford-Ullendorff Graduate Scholarship in Semitic Philology

Reginald Campbell Thompson Graduate Scholarship in Assyriology

Norman Hargreaves-Mawdsley AHRC & Clarendon Scholarships

Wolfson Harrison UK Research Council Physics Scholarship

Wolfson Harrison UK Research Council Quantum Foundation Scholarship

OCLW Derrill Allatt & ESRC Graduate Studentship

Wolfson Tibetan and Himalayan Studies Scholarship

David Thomas Scholarship in Ancient Documents

Jeremy Black Scholarship in Assyriology

Lorne Thyssen Scholarship in Ancient World Studies

Lorne Thyssen Scholarship in Imperial History

Littman-Vermes Scholarship on Jewish-Christian Relations in Antiquity

Ken and Veronica Tregidgo Scholarship in Atomic & Laser Physics

Andrew Prentice Scholarship in Physics

Sir Anwar Pervez Scholarships

Dr Liu Chak Wan Scholarships


Research & Travel Awards

Tim and Kathy Clayden Prize

Ghazarian Research Award

Roger and Fay Booker Materials Science Travel Award

Anthony Aris Award in Tibetan & Himalayan Studies

Lorne Thyssen Research Awards in Ancient World Studies


Hardship Bursaries

Marcus Banks Award

Bestway Foundation Bursary

Joyce Bonnie Farley Award

Clive Foss Bursary

Merete Jakobsen Award