Visiting Scholars

This status is to enable invited academics and comparable creative persons to carry out research in Oxford for any period of time up to two years.

Prospective visitors may come for any length of time from a few weeks to two years.

Application Process

Visiting Scholars are elected by the Fellowships and Membership Committee twice each term (weeks ‘0' and ‘5' in the University Term). Candidates must be proposed and seconded by two current College members, one of whom should be a Governing Body Fellow who knows the candidate personally or is familiar with their academic work. Please see application form below for further particulars.

Completed applications should be received by the closing dates below.  Email

Graduate students are not eligible and self-proposals are not accepted for this membership.

Closing Dates

Michaelmas Term: 19 September 2019 24 October 2019
Hilary Term: 19 December 2019 30 January 2020
Trinity Term:  9 April 2020 14 May 2020


A termly subscription will be payable to the Common Room. Learn more.

More Information
Browse additional resources and see further particulars below.
Visiting Scholars Application FormDownload