Wolfson Arts Prize Winners announced

Published on
Thursday 8 June 2023
Art & Humanities

Congratulations to the top three winners of Wolfson’s first Arts Prize, whose artwork will now be displayed around college.

At last night’s General Meeting President Sir Tim Hitchens took the opportunity to announce the winners of Wolfson’s first Arts Prize. 

The competition opened in April and encouraged visual art entries from members of the Wolfson community in the form of painting, drawing, photography, textiles, sculpture and even experimental film. 

The entries were judged by a panel of experts from our artistic community with three winners chosen to be displayed in college.  

At the General Meeting President Tim said: 

“I’m delighted to announce the winners of the first Wolfson Arts Prize. 

Members of the Wolfson community were invited to submit their artwork on any theme. We’ve received about forty applications, often including a series of works by an individual. The quality has been wonderfully high; creativity at Wolfson is clearly thriving! We’ve received works from old and young, in a wide variety of media.  

Among those artists who have been highly commended are: Harram Khurram, Kathrin Fischer, Catherine Hauk, Rebecca Gowers, Clara Tuffrey and Martino Bardelli. We give a special mention to our youngest artist, Demara Skach Groiser.” 

The winners are:

Amaia Salazar Rodriguez Top Finalist

First Prize - £100 

Artist: Amaia Salazar Rodriguez 

Project: Hallucinations  

Title: Hallucinations Part 3  

Medium: Photograph  


Barbara Harris-White  

Second Prize - £50 

Artist: Barbara Harriss-White  

Project : No to War 

Title: Ypres-Reims-Raqqa-fascist-Toledo 

Medium: Transparent and opaque enamel, carbon debris, grit on copper  


Jean Kearney  

Third Prize - £25 

Artist: Jean Kearney  

Title: Exploring the borders  

Medium: pen, pencil, paper 

“Our warm congratulations to all three, and all those who have taken part. Given the high level of participation and quality of work we are hoping to run the competition again next year.”