Jon Stallworthy Prize Winner Annnounced

Published on:

Sunday 29 January


On 18 January 2017 the second award was made of the Jon Stallworthy Poetry Prize for Oxford postgraduate students, at an event held at Wolfson College and chaired by the College President, Professor Dame Hermione Lee. The judges for the prize were Simon Armitage (Professor of Poetry) and Bernard O'Donoghue (Wadham College).  

Launched in 2014, this poetry prize has been set up in memory of the late Professor Jon Stallworthy (1935-2014). Jon Stallworthy was one of this country's most admired poets, for many years a central and leading figure in the English Faculty at Oxford, and at the heart of Wolfson College's life and community, as a Governing Body Fellow, Senior Research Fellow, Extraordinary Fellow, Vicegerent, and twice Acting President.

First prize was won by Kristin Grogan (Exeter College) for Tenderly, tenderlyRunner up was Michael Reinertz (Pembroke College) for Leaf Recovering. Last years winner, Andrew Wynn Owen (All Souls) was Commended for two poems, Leaf Lives and Shadowings, and Elijah Petzold (St Cross College) was commended for Beneath an Oak.

Pippa Stallworthy, Jon Stallworthy's daughter, was in attendance.